How many times?!

This will be short and sweet.

Numbers 14:10-12 NIV

But the whole assembly talked about stoning them. Then the glory of the Lord  appeared at the tent of meeting to all the Israelites. The Lord  said to Moses, “How long will these people treat me with contempt? How long will they refuse to believe in me, in spite of all the signs I have performed among them? I will strike them down with a plague and destroy them, but I will make you into a nation greater and stronger than they.”

I’ve been working on daily Bible readings (thank you smart phones with daily reminders), and today this came up. It just got me thinking.

How many times do we expect God to prove Himself (i.e. do absolutely everything for us?) before we finally trust Him? How often do we expect a miracle on our behalf when we’ve already had so many?

And who do we think we are to ungratefully expect these things when simple faith produces more miracles than we can imagine?

This passage, coupled with a recent Sunday school discussion about Ananias and Sapphira just has me thinking about being a bit more grateful, a bit less selfish, and a bit more open to the things He already does and has done for me even though I deserved none of it. Pass it on.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

